The Commission ruled that the dismissal of Kieran Gibbs was a case of mistaken identity and transferred this to his team-mate Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain. Subsequent to deciding this matter, the Commission then considered Arsenal’s claim for wrongful dismissal in relation to Oxlade-Chamberlain. This claim was upheld meaning Oxlade-Chamberlain will not serve any suspension with the standard punishment withdrawn with immediate effect.
Good news all around, obviously. Via twitter:
Arsenal have been successful with two appeals following Saturday’s defeat by Chelsea – http://t.co/BfNmo8o67o
— The FA (@FA) March 24, 2014
The wrongful dismissal came after Oxlade-Chamberlain deflected a shot with his hand, but because the shot was not clearly going in, apparently, Ox will not serve the one-match ban that might have otherwise followed.
That's great news!
Sadly, all this comes too late to make any difference as to the Chelsea match although, IMHO, I doubt it would have changed the overall outcome, but probably the final score. We know, if there had not been any sent off, it would have been 3-0 after the penalty shot, but nothing about subsequent play, albeit with one added player might have resulted in 3 or more goals for Arsenal and none for Chelsea.The die was cast by the time Ox waved at the ball going by him.